Bonesville: The Authoritative Independent Voice of East Carolina
Daily News & Features from East Carolina, Conference USA and Beyond

Mobile Alpha Roundup Daily Beat Recruiting The Seasons Multimedia Historical Data Pirate Time Machine SportByte™ Weather


Put your ad message in front of 1,000's and 1,000's of Pirate fans. Call 252.637.2944 for flexible options & rates.




Rice among 16 NCAA regional hosts

C-USA runner-up East Carolina could be destined for an upper seeding in Chapel Hill, Columbia, Myrtle Beach or Charlottesville

From staff reports
All rights reserved.

The NCAA Division I Baseball Committee announced 16 regional sites for the 61st annual NCAA Division I Baseball Championship on Sunday afternoon. For the sixth time in the past seven years, Rice's Reckling Park will serve as a site for the opening round of The Road to Omaha.

The 16 sites announced by the committee:

  • Tempe, AZ (Arizona State)

  • Fayetteville, AR (Arkansas)

  • Myrtle Beach, SC (Coastal Carolina)

  • Tallahassee, FL ( Florida State)

  • Long Beach, CA (Long Beach State)

  • Columbia, MO ( Missouri)

  • Chapel Hill, NC (North Carolina)

  • Oxford, MS (Ole Miss)

  • Houston, TX (Rice)

  • San Diego, CA (San Diego)

  • Columbia, SC (South Carolina)

  • Round Rock, TX (Texas)

  • College Station, TX (Texas A&M)

  • Nashville, TN (Vanderbilt)

  • Charlottesville, VA (Virginia)

  • Wichita, KA (Wichita State)

By virtue of being awarded a regional, eight of the host institutions also have been selected as at-large teams to the 64-team field: Florida State, Long Beach State, Missouri, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Texas, Virginia and Wichita State.

Arkansas, San Diego, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt were positioned to clinch automatic berths by winning conference tournament championship games, which were scheduled for Sunday afternoon. Teams that lost in those games would become at-large selections.

Rice secured its league's automatic bid on Sunday by defeating East Carolina 16-8 in the Conference USA Tournament in Greenville, while North Carolina took the ACC tourney title. Arizona State and Coastal Carolina had already clinched automatic berths by virtue of having won the Pacific-10 and Big South Conference, respectively.

The Houston (Rice) Regional will get underway on Friday, June 1. The remainder of the field for all the regionals and match-ups for the first round games will be announced by the NCAA on Monday at 12:30 pm (Eastern Time).

College baseball observers have speculated that East Carolina will likely find a regional spot in Chapel Hill, Columbia, Myrtle Beach or Charlottesville. After a strong showing in the C-USA Tournament, the Pirates appear to be in contention for a No. 2 seed in their regional.

05/28/2007 01:58:05 AM

From staff and electronic reports. Information published by ECU, Conference USA or its member schools, the NCAA, or other sources contributed to this article. Copyright 2007 and other publishers. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.


©2001-2002-2003-2004-2005-2006-2007-2008-2009-2010-2011-2012-2013 All rights reserved.
Articles, logos, graphics, photos, audio files, video files and other content originated on this site are the proprietary property of
None of the articles, logos, graphics, photos, audio files, video files or other content originated on this site may be reproduced without written permission.
This site is not affiliated with East Carolina University. View's Privacy Policy. Advertising contact: 252-349-3280; Editorial contact:; 252-444-1905.